An Art Exchange, what’s that?

Have you ever had a pen pal, you know how excited you get when you send out the letter and wait for the return with the answers of all your questions… information about a place far from where you live??   I do, my first pen pal was in elementary school I do not really remember the details but I remember anticipating when that letter would arrive just for me.

Well through the wonders of Twitter, I connected with Erin Eddy, an art teacher at Chatsworth School in New Jersey, who was looking for someone to exchange mandalas.  I responded to her tweet and then she emailed me her plans for the mandalas.

In the meantime, I started working on Mandala designs as a fun unit on radial symmetry in Grade 1/2  and the cultural use of Mandalas in Ms Bonnie’s Grade 4/5 art classes.

After receiving the plans from Erin Eddy, I saw what concepts and designs her students would be using to create their mandalas.  Ours would be a bit different than her students, but they would create a wonderful quilt of color, line and shape when displayed together.

 

IMG_2749

 

Here is a closer look at some of the sections:

IMG_2746IMG_2745IMG_2743

Here are a few Chatsworth School Mandalas:

IMG_2968IMG_2969IMG_2970

 

Here are a few of our Voyager Mandalas:

IMG_2909 IMG_2905 IMG_2902

 

 

2 thoughts on “An Art Exchange, what’s that?

Leave a Reply

